I’ve been thinking about the main kinds of books I (mostly) read, so that I won’t be reading the same kind of book repeatedly. Because it’s much easier to read a lightweight chick-lit novel in one week than, say, “The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay” (which I liked a lot, but took me at least 6 months to get through) I am going to force myself to vary the choices every week. So some weeks I’ll have something easier and shorter–and hopefully finish in just a few days– other times I’ll attempt something a bit more ambitious, knowing it may take a few weeks… My hope is that over the course of the year it will even out. I’m still working out the basic categories I’ll use to describe the books (and suggestions are welcome) but the main ones I’ve come up with so far include: Lighter Weight Fiction (includes the ever-popular chick-lit category and some mysteries), Non-Fiction (includes essays, child-rearing, food writing, memoirs.) and what I am calling for now Proper Fiction, which includes classics and non-lightweight novels. The big rule is this: I will not read the same type of book from week to week.

In addition…I’m going to read at least 5 classics that I’ve been looking at on my shelves for years. I am finally going to finish Obama’s “Dreams from my Father”, and start reading MFK Fisher (although probably not the 800+ page “From the Journals of MFK Fisher” that I’ve been bringing on most vacations since 1999). I will most likely re-read Nora Ephron’s “Heartburn”, again. Regarding children’s books: No books that I read to Ben will count, unless he’s ready to start listening to Harry Potter, etc., which I’m pretty sure he’s not. The occasional book about child-rearing will pop up now and then, but in general a few books a year on how to handle a three-year-old is plenty.

