“The History of Love” By Nicole Krauss (2005); 253 pages

Started reading August 22, finished reading August 30.

Possibly one of the best books I have ever read. Ever. I know this is going to sound trite, but: “The History of Love” is a literary mystery that made me laugh and cry, and I wasn’t able to put it down. And the minute I finished it I was ready to start reading it all over again. Really. The story–which I am not going to summarize here– involves entangled plot lines that you want to go back and get a fresh reading on as soon as you’ve made your way through it, and yet somehow still manages to be completely satisfying. While the title may sound like this book could possibly fall into the chick-lit category, it’s not. At all. It is a true modern classic.

Only after reading up on Nicole Krauss after finishing the book (which is actually a habit I want to avoid falling in to: I don’t want to base my comments at all on what I’ve read on Amazon or in reviews) did I learn that she is married to author Jonathan Safran Foer (“Everything is Illuminated”, “Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close”) whose books I really ought to read–although whether or not I could finish one in a week remains to be seen… I’ll get back to you on that one. Krauss’s book was complex and beautifully written, but also constructed in a way that compels you to plow through it. It did take me the full week to read, but only because I had a lot of other stuff going on at the same time. This is a book you could finish almost in one sitting, and definitely in a weekend. But the story will stay with you for much longer than that.

